www.pegasos.org :: View topic - Quake3 arena !
http://www.ggsdata.se
Home   News   Forum   Gallery   
Search 
Login




 


 Log in Problems?
 New User? Sign Up!

Navigation

Online
Currently no members online:)

You are an anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
There are 1 unlogged users online !

Latest Web Links

Latest Downloads

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
lisardman
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 02:46
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Jan 14, 2004
Posts: 1938
Location: Karlsborg,Sverige
with a voodoo3 card you don't need mos 1.5 according to bigfoot to play quake3

_________________
RR!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
ironfist
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 06:32
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Jan 22, 2004
Posts: 2517
Location: Göteborg
And Voodoo-cards are older than my mom..


Gunne: You have time and time again here changed your
opinion. How about sticking to what you first said? You first
said that Bigfoot has ported Q3 to MorphOS. Later you deny
that any unreleased version exists. May I ask what you call
Bigfoot's version if not unreleased?

"Its just Mark showing some screenshoots after he have Quake 3
running on his MorphOS system, and as he said, 5 hours after
the sources have been released as GPL."
20 Aug, 14:34

"About a possibly MOS Quake3 port, that dholm is talking about,
I leave it as something thats just like coming out from thin air,
as I do not know about any."
22 Aug, 21:50

If this isn't contradicition I dunno what is..
 
 View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
gunne
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 07:17
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Göteborg
Hi ironfist,

I would like to suggest you to read mejdes post above.

And no, I have not made any contradictions, maybe it is you who have ?

Its very sad to see all this slammering about nothing...

Btw, I have not written that bigfoot, or noone else for that matter, have ported Q3 to MorphOS, thats again also just something coming out of your own fantazy.

You have yourself quoted part of what I have written.

And please speak for yourself from now on !

_________________
Mvh Gunne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
gunne
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 08:49
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Göteborg
Hello,

For trying to make this absolutely crystal clear, maybe this can help.

1; bigfoot did show some pictures of quake3 running on his MorphOS system.

2; I got little curios and therefore asked him if he have it running on his Pegasos under MorphOS.

3; He told me, yes he have, and he said he was working on it.

4; I posted the pictures in this thread, and posted also the information.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I got little upset because of all slammering that did show up because of this.

The newsitem should have said something like... - bigfoot tells us he have got quake3 running within MorphOS and might be working on a possible port and later release for MorphOS.

Thats it !

Also about gpl issues. If I know bigfoot right, he when/if he will make a release, he will make it properly, so any specualations about braking of the GPL is just... speculation at this time.

_________________
Mvh Gunne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
ironfist
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 10:24
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Jan 22, 2004
Posts: 2517
Location: Göteborg
Yes, I quoted that you first said Bigfoot has a Q3 running
on MorphOS and that you later said that any Q3 port for MOS
is "coming out of thin air".

And now in your last post you conclude that Bigfoot indeed
has Quake 3 running within MorphOS.

If this doesn't confuze people, I dunno what does. This
discussion leads nowhere.
 
 View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
gunne
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 10:53
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Göteborg
Yes,

I would like to say, work in progress, which later on might lead to a possible port and also release.

I still thinks the newsitem was misleading though.

Anyway, I hope this is settled by now.

_________________
Mvh Gunne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mejde
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 11:56
Newbie


Joined: Jul 12, 2005
Posts: 14

Quote:
with a voodoo3 card you don't need mos 1.5 according to bigfoot to play quake3

Nice to know but irrelevant when it comes to him breaking the GPL or not. (I guess I'm to blame since I mentioned MOS 1.5.)

Quote:
And now in your last post you conclude that Bigfoot indeed
has Quake 3 running within MorphOS.

Whether Bigfoot has Quake 3 running is also irrelevant when it comes to breaking the GPL or not. (He obviously has it running and yes, it looks like Gunne contradicted himself.)

The GPL does not, I repeat N O T, require you to release modifications if you do not distribute the modified version. Show me the link, CD, tell me about anyone he has given the binaries to and disallowed them to look at the source... or something. If you can't do that, there's been a lot of flaming over nothing.

And as I said, it would be nice if he released the source when he felt it was ready. But my guess is that you won't see it until he releases a binary. (And I guess there's not much point to releasing a binary until most people have 3d acceleration, which means radeon 3d drivers...)


Last edited by mejde on Aug 24, 2005 - 02:06; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gunne
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 23, 2005 - 13:22
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Göteborg
to mejde,

Just a note,

No, I would like to say that I not have not contradicted myself, and will not try to do either.

I still think the newsitem is misleading as it is written, but I will leave it as it is, and consider the issue as ended.

_________________
Mvh Gunne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
ironfist
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 30, 2005 - 13:33
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Jan 22, 2004
Posts: 2517
Location: Göteborg
So, what do you say Gunne.. Is there any
Quake 3 version for MorphOS?.. Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
gunne
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 30, 2005 - 13:53
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Göteborg
ironfist,

Seems so, yes Smile

thumb up

_________________
Mvh Gunne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
TimK
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 31, 2005 - 07:51
Journeyman
Journeyman


Joined: Aug 19, 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Amsterdam
gunne,

Since there surely will be quite a surge for both the quake3mos archive as well as the mods, would it be an idea to
host some of the mods at www.pegasos.org?

// Tim
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
gunne
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 31, 2005 - 08:29
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Göteborg
TimK,

Perhaps, depending little on filesize, because of bandwith reasons, but torrent works very fine, as we do with a couple of other live cds.

There is mods to find here; Link and here at bigfoot.

I also tried it little yesterday evening, it works excellent, and fast (very good I would like to say) on my Radeon 9200SE. I also made the update installation.

Can also mention if anyone might be curios, that I made a small comparisition between a Radeon 9200SE, 64bit, 128MB and a Radeon 9250, 128bit, 256MB, however in Q2. And I got 190fps with the Radeon 9250, and 130fps with the Radeon 9200SE in the same resolution, 800x600. Can perhaps give a little hint about difference between the cards.

Edit,

The new improved CD32 livecd is already seeded at 4-5 different places I think, so this should speed up download a bit I think.

_________________
Mvh Gunne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
dholm
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 31, 2005 - 13:47
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Aug 26, 2003
Posts: 1784
Location: Malmö
Is there anything you are sure of? Shocked

_________________
I need this baby in a month send me nine women!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
gunne
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 31, 2005 - 14:21
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 2538
Location: Göteborg
dholm,

Yeah,... I hope you like playing around in Quake III Arena ? Smile

_________________
Mvh Gunne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
dholm
Post subject: RE: Quake3 arena !  PostPosted: Aug 31, 2005 - 15:35
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Aug 26, 2003
Posts: 1784
Location: Malmö
No, I grew tired of it years ago. Right now I'm enjoying Neverwinter Nights and Fable.

_________________
I need this baby in a month send me nine women!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2004-2012 by pegasos.org

backend|avantgo