www.pegasos.org :: View topic - Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86
http://www.ggsdata.se
Home   News   Forum   Gallery   
Search 
Login




 


 Log in Problems?
 New User? Sign Up!

Navigation

Online
Currently no members online:)

You are an anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
There are 1 unlogged users online !

Latest Web Links

Latest Downloads

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
Trizt
Post subject: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Aug 21, 2005 - 06:54
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Sep 08, 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: EU
Yeah, I know this is a PPC forum, but there are some usefull hints, that will be really usefull when compiling Quake3. As things are right now, it don't compile on GNU/Linux PPC, there are some modifications needed.

Quote:
unzip -a quake3-1.32b-source.zip
cd quake3-1.32b/lcc/src
perl -pi.bk -e 's/\r//' *.md
cd ../../code/game
perl -pi.bk -e 's/\r//' *.c *.h
cd ..
vi Construct (or us any other texteditor)
Line 22: change debug[/] to release
Line 235: remove [i]-Werror

cd ../lcc/
vi cpp/lex.c (or us any other texteditor)
Line 56 (change to): START, { ' ', '\t', '\v', '\r' }, WS1,
Line 170 (change to): WS1, { ' ', '\t', '\v', '\r' }, WS1,
make all
cd ../q3asm && make
cd ../code
unix/cons

Note: when editing lex.c, there should be a space between the two ', or else you will get problems and the build will break with errors.

After you run cons and it stops on cg_servercmds.c, then remove the trailing '\' on lines 942 and 943. and re-run cons.

If everything went fine, then you will have a new directory in your code directory named install, where you will find 3 files, linuxq3ded, linuxquake3 and linuxquake3-smp, those are the binaries, for them you will ned the pak files for Quake3 before you can play it.

Let see who fixes the needed changes for compiling a PPC version...

_________________
Join the Pegasos.Org Team at Seti@Home.
 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
kozz
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Aug 30, 2005 - 13:14
Butterfly
Butterfly


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 883
Location: Göteborg
So Trizt, how is it going with your PPC port?

I succeded to compile it with the tips you written above, but can't unforntuately run it. Always gives "Sys_Error: recursive error after: User Interface is version 3, expected 6". Haven't really looked very deeply at the problem, but have seen other having the same problem and they upgraded to a newer version of ID's own precompiled engine and could run it. Someone also added the files again to their baseq3 folder and fixed it that way, might be that my CD is broken Smile

There is by the way a project at http://www.icculus.org/quake3/ with the goal to improve the engine and make it run on more platforms. It compiled without modifications on my x86 and with GCC 4, but got the same error message when I ran it. How knows, it maybe compiles on PPC today if they have made more fixes...

_________________
Programmers are tools for converting caffeine into code.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
Trizt
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Aug 31, 2005 - 15:34
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Sep 08, 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: EU
I haven't had time over for computers lately.
It compiles fine on my x86 (playble), but on the PPC it don't compile for me at all, but I guess there really should be some PPC specific stuff included instead of x86 code.

I have to take a look at the project, when I get time over, but that will most likely take another two weeks or so and I still have an Ultra Sparc to test (haven't got two similar SDRAM yet, but POST-test seems to work at least on the U10).

_________________
Join the Pegasos.Org Team at Seti@Home.
 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
kozz
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Sep 04, 2005 - 14:34
Butterfly
Butterfly


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 883
Location: Göteborg
For the interested, Quake 3 at icculus.org has made many changed to the Quake 3 source code and many improvments for making it run on PowerPC. So finally it works on PowerPC, but one has to make some minor changed tho. I prepared a patch for this and have contacted the resonsible for Quake 3 at icculus, but haven't got any answer yet.

Site: http://www.icculus.org/quake3/
My patch: http://www.kozz.org/files/files/quake-ppc.diff

Run the following to compile it:
Code:

svn co svn://svn.icculus.org/quake3/trunk quake3
wget http://www.kozz.org/files/files/quake-ppc.diff
cd quake3
patch -p0 < ../quake3-pcc.diff
make


Then you can run it with:
Code:

./code/unix/releaseppc-glibc/linuxquake3


You will need to put the pak files from you Quake 3 cd into the baseq3 folder.

We will see when these changes come into the svn, but it really works.

_________________
Programmers are tools for converting caffeine into code.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
ironfist
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Sep 04, 2005 - 15:01
Order of the Pegasos
Order of the Pegasos


Joined: Jan 22, 2004
Posts: 2517
Location: Göteborg
Thanks Kozz! How about posting a news item
on this.

"Pegasos.org makes Quake 3 Run on Linux/PPC.." Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
lisardman
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Sep 04, 2005 - 16:05
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Jan 14, 2004
Posts: 1940
Location: Karlsborg,Sverige
hell yeah that roxx.. Razz "Pegasos.org - Your pain in the ass"

_________________
RR!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
Trizt
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Sep 05, 2005 - 05:25
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Sep 08, 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: EU
kozz, sent your patch to icculus yet?

_________________
Join the Pegasos.Org Team at Seti@Home.
 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
kozz
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Sep 05, 2005 - 05:39
Butterfly
Butterfly


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 883
Location: Göteborg
Yes

_________________
Programmers are tools for converting caffeine into code.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
Trizt
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Sep 05, 2005 - 08:42
Order of the Butterfly
Order of the Butterfly


Joined: Sep 08, 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: EU
I compiled it with your patch, seems to work, except something is messed up with my X and it don't give me any hardware acc opengl. What I really tried to get to work is the dedicated server, but keep on having the following message

Code:
smells like demo data, continueing anyways
Loading vm file vm/qagame.qvm.
Architecture doesn't have a bytecode compiler, using interpreter
Received signal 11, exiting...


I'm quite clueless why this happens, but I guess there are a patch needed for the dedicated server too.

_________________
Join the Pegasos.Org Team at Seti@Home.
 
 View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
kozz
Post subject: RE: Compiling Quake3 on GNU/Linux x86  PostPosted: Sep 17, 2005 - 14:49
Butterfly
Butterfly


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 883
Location: Göteborg
Just wanted to say that the patch is now, finally, in the svn at icculus. Took some long time for various reasons. Anyway, no need to patch it anymore.

_________________
Programmers are tools for converting caffeine into code.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
frostwork
Post subject: Q3  PostPosted: Sep 17, 2005 - 15:13
Newbie


Joined: Sep 17, 2005
Posts: 17

Hi!

Could please s.o. be so kind to upload a icculus-tarball somewhere?
I don't have net at home and can't download svn/cvs stuff from netcafe...
cheers
frostwork
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kozz
Post subject: RE: Q3  PostPosted: Sep 17, 2005 - 15:35
Butterfly
Butterfly


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 883
Location: Göteborg
Ohh, Trizt.. didn't see your post before. But just testet to run the dedicated server and it starts up. I can however not join it, it might just be me how don't know how to do. But netstats shows it running and listening on a port.

netstat:
udp 0 0 *:27960 *:* 20641/linuxq3ded

I tried multiplayer and local but didn't found any servers...

_________________
Programmers are tools for converting caffeine into code.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
kozz
Post subject: RE: Q3  PostPosted: Sep 17, 2005 - 19:57
Butterfly
Butterfly


Joined: Aug 16, 2003
Posts: 883
Location: Göteborg
Ok I simply made a tar archive of code/unix/releaseppc-glibc. It is a snapshot from today, 2005-09-17. Hope it works, please tell me if you got any problem. Will problably not work on a G3 since it uses some altivec code. You of course also needs the Quake 3 pak files.

http://www.kozz.org/files/games/quake3/quake3-20050917.tar.bz2

_________________
Programmers are tools for converting caffeine into code.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
frostwork
Post subject: q3  PostPosted: Sep 18, 2005 - 17:10
Newbie


Joined: Sep 17, 2005
Posts: 17

Thanks a lot!!!
I'll tell you if everything works in next netcafe-session Smile

cheers
frostwork
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
frostwork
Post subject: q3  PostPosted: Sep 19, 2005 - 16:21
Newbie


Joined: Sep 17, 2005
Posts: 17

Hi! me again Smile

It works great under my gentoo (only some sfx-glitches when
a lived is "defragged", but doesn't lower playability).
My debian doesn't like the glibc- version used for compile so it dosn't
start there.
If it's not too much requested would it be possible to upload a
src-tar-snapshot ? Would be really great, as I'm still almost every time
under debian...

Cheers,
frostwork
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2004-2012 by pegasos.org

backend|avantgo